Democracy Dividends in Enugu State since May 2003

Below is an up-to-date list of completed and on-going projects in the state since the 2nd inauguration of Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani as governor on May 29, 2003.


1. Ibagwa township road 1. Ebe-ano 9th mile Bypass
2. Obuofia-Umueze road 2. Ndeabor-Mpu-Okpanku road
3. Okpara Square roads 3. Nenwe-Oduma road
4.. Rehabilitation of Enugu urban roads including Presidential Road, Ogui Road, Abakiliki Road, Agbani Road, Ezillo (Brown and Brown) Street, Aguleri (Court of Appeal) Road, Neni Street, O’Connor Street, ESBS/NTA Road, Edinburgh Road, and others. 4. Oji-Achi-Mmaku-Awgu road
5. Airforce Comprehensive School direct link road. 5. Nsukka Urban road maintenance
6. Dualisation of Chime Avenue New Haven 6. Ette-Ogrutte-Ibagwa-Nsukka road
7. Achara Layout Road Network reconstruction, including Ozalla, Achina, Afikpo, Nnaji-nwede Streets and others. 7. Akpasha-Ozalla road
8. Construction of a link road and bridge between Independence Layout (Nza Street) to New Haven. 8. Agbogugu-Ihe road
9. Dualization of Rangers Avenue, Independence Layout, Enugu 9. Owelli Court road
10. Construction of the first road tunnel in Nigeria linking Ogui Road (near Artisan Market) and Okpara Avenue (near the old Trade Fair complex). 10. Ehamufu-Ebonyi State border
  11. Ugwogo-Nike-Neke-Mbu-Ikem-Ehamufu road.
  12. Rehabilitation of Enugu Urban roads (still in progress)
  13. Construction of a road bypass from the Kingsway road through Udi Siding, UNTH, Chest Clinic to Coal Camp.
  14. Dualization of Ozalla-ESUT-Agbani-Law School road
4. Nyaba bridge (Amechi-Obeagu-Amodu-Umueze road) 15. Ojolowo bridge
  16. Ngene Akwarri bridge
  17. Ovu bridge
  18. Evna bridge
Rehabilitation of Polo Park, G.R.A., Enugu. Construction of an International Conference Centre at Independence Layout, Enugu. The state-of-the-art centre will comprise a 5,000 seater main bowl, 1,500 seater small bowl, another 1000 seater dome theatrel, a 200-room five star hotel, and an office complex for the State Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism.
Construction of an ultra-modern Judiciary Headquarters at the Three Arms Zone, Independence Layout, Enugu, to comprise 17 modern courtrooms, in addition to the Chief Judge's Chambers and Library, all fully computierized and equipped with automated recording systems.  
1. Establishment of Special Science School at Agbani (with administrative block, classroom block, hostel blocks, dining and kitchen complex, staff block and laboratory blocks) 1. Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT), permanent site, with 164 buildings including customized faculties, 16,000 capacity hostel blocks with ensuite facilities, professors' quarters, senior and junior staff quarters, main auditorium, 2 cafeteria complex, multi-purpose students' centre, stadium, asphalt road network, water system, medical centre, etc. (at advanced stage)
2. Establishment of a day secondary school at Independence Layout (near ETV). 2. Neighbourhood Schools Programme (Enugu, Awgu, Nsukka and Agbani)
3. Rehabilitation of Special Education Centre for the Handicapped at Oji-River. 3. Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) Teaching Hospital/College of Medicine at Parklane, GRA, Enugu (nearing completion)

4. Secondary School for the Deaf and Dumb at Ogbete Special Education Centre
5. Supplied Science Equipment to eighty(80) Seconday Schools in Enugu State.  
6. Free and qualitative education from primary One up to JSII  
7. Established Computer Training Centres in eight (8) schools in Enugu Urban  
8. Renovated Igwebuike Primary School in Ihuokpara, Community Primary School in Onitsha-Agu, Agu-Achara Primary School in Nsukka (near old Army Barracks) and Town (Primary) School, Emene.  
9. Model Secondary School, Ette  
10. Model Secondary School, Mpu  
11. Model Secondary School, Agbani  
1. School of Nursing, Parklane 1. Construction of Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) Teaching Hospital/College of Medicine at Parklane Specialist Hospital, G.R.A., Enugu. (almost completed)
2. Specialist Hospital, Enugu (Renovation)  
3. Total Renovation and refurbishment of 7 District Hospitals at Udi, Enugu Ezike, Agwu, Ikem, Agbani, Enugu Urban and Nsukka.  
1. Energisation of Golf Course Housing Estate 1. Obukpa Housing Estate
2. Golf Course Housing Estate 2. Medium Class Housing
3. Ekulu East Layout, Enugu, provided with standard road network, comprehensive water distribution network, road-side drainage and culvets, electricity and street lights, telecommunications, shopping complex and schools. 3. Ugwuaji New Layout
4. Renovation and re-equipping of Secretariat Building, Enugu 4. Ugwogo-Nike New Layout
5. New headquaters for the Enugu State Action Committee on HIV/AIDS (ENSACA) 5. Loma Linda Housing Estate, 9 block apartment buildings comprising 324 units of 3 bedroom flats, with perimeter fencing, a shopping complex and playing ground.
1. Awhum water scheme 1. Drilling of twenty new shallow boreholes in Aninri and Nkanu East LGAs
2. Obinofia Ndiuno water scheme 2. Rehabilitation of broken down boreholes in 9th Mile borehole field
3. Amakpu Agbani water scheme 3. 9th Mile Crash water programme
4. Upgrading of Enugu urban water network through replacement of old and small asbestos water pipes with new and bigger ductile iron pipes.  
5. Construction of 400 lengths of 900 mm steel water pipes to the Federal Government water project in Enugu State  
6. Ten boreholes and twelve hand-dug wells in Oduma.  
7. Eighteen hand dug wells in Ehamufu  
1. Establishment of New Haven Shopping Centre  
2. Ugbawka, 3. Amodu 4.Isu, 5. Abia, 6. Nsude, 7. Ibagwa-Nike Pascal Monastry, 8. Amorji-Nike, 9. Amurri, 10. Akpoga, 11. Obollo-Affor Station, 10, Amagunze extension, 11, Ndiuno-Uwani-Akpugo  



Ebeano Home
© 2003 Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani. All Rights Reserved. For site problems contact