Enugu gets six new commissioners
March 3, 2006

Governor Chimaroke Nnamani of Enugu State has charged political office holders in the state to see their appointment as a call to service.

Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony of six newly appointed members of the State Executive Council, Governor Nnamani reminded them that their assignment is challenging, enormous and demanded a lot of commitments.

Governor Nnamani who was represented by his Deputy, Chief Okechukwu Itanyi, also told them that government's expectations from them are very high since it was determined to complete all its ongoing projects in the state before the end of its tenure.

The Governor noted that the government had succeeded in the execution of its programmes and developmental projects because of the spirit of teamwork and determination of its functionaries.

He therefore charged them to join the team and bring their wealth of experience to bear in their new assignment since they were appointed purely on merit and based on their past track records.

The State Chief Executive however told them that there was no rooms for non-performers and mediocre, adding that government would give them all the needed assistance to discharge their duties creditably.

Responding on behalf of the newly sworn-in Commissioners, Dr. Simon Idike promised that they would bring out the best in them to ensure that the pace is maintained.

Dr Idike stated that the team would discharge their duties with fear of God and dedication to the people.

He thanked Governor Nnamani for giving them the rare opportunity and privilege to serve the good people of Enugu State.

Those sworn-in include Dr. Simon Idike, a one time Commissioner for Health in the State, Mr. Jonathan Ivoke who was until his appointment was the Special Adviser to the Governor on Project Development and Implementation (PDI), and Mr. Uche Anioke who was before then Special Adviser to the Governor on Special Duties.

Others are Mr. Godwin Ogbo, Chief Paul Eze and Mr. Okey Ogbodo as well as Mr. Chikwendu Nnamani who was sworn-in as permanent secretary.


Ebeano Home
© 2003 Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani. All Rights Reserved. For site problems contact webmaster@ebeano.org.